Lent – Monday – March 21

Hebrews 13:1-6

Once, I was on a mission trip with youth, in a city where I did not speak the language. I found myself alone, walking some distance to meet up with the rest of the group. Suddenly, a woman I had just recently met drove down the road on a mo-ped. She stopped and signaled for me to get on the back. Without exchanging words, I got on and she graciously took me to my destination. Her hospitality to me, a foreigner in her land, spoke volumes. While I do not remember this woman’s name, I have not forgotten her gesture. God shows up in the craziest places, even driving a mo-ped. As we welcome strangers into our lives, we are changed. How might you entertain strangers during this Lenten season?

Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.
– Hebrews 13:2 NIV

From: Lent Devotional 2011 by Luther Seminary and Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

