Lent – Tuesday – March 22

Romans 4:6-13

When I was young, my bedroom was the only one upstairs. Outside the window, a large oak tree would cast shadows into my room. They danced on the floor near my bed, and I was scared. My parents knew of my fear, but believed it was a safe place for me. So with their words of promise, I headed up into the dark every night. After a while, their promise proved stronger than my fears. God made a promise to Abraham and to all of Abraham’s children, you and me included. God’s promise is far bigger than my parents’, but it’s just as real. Our promise is that we might be heirs of God’s kingdom. Do you rest in that promise? Does it propel you through your fear?

It was not through the law that Abraham and his offspring received the promise that he would be heir of the world, but through the righteousness that comes by faith.

– Romans 4:13 NIV

From: Lent Devotional 2011 by Luther Seminary and Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

