Lent – Thursday – March 24

Psalm 121

My high school choir director experienced hard times in his life. He looked to Psalm 121 for comfort. One summer, he wrote a song using the words from that Psalm. That fall, he told my choir about his struggle and gave the song to us as a gift. We worked hard that year to learn the song, and sang it at our closing concert. It was a moving moment, for us and our director. What a gift. Later, as I hit hard times in life, Psalm 121 was the first place I turned. My choir director gave us more then I had imagined, for he knew that he couldn’t keep the hard times from happening in our lives, but he could give us guidance when we hit them.

I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.

– Psalm 121:1-2 NIV

From: Lent Devotional 2011 by Luther Seminary and Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

